Harold Camping’s Prediction is Now Laughable (Follow Up)

This is going to be a very short post (for once), and the only reason I’m making a separate post rather than updating the first one is because the content here is very important, and I want to make sure that all of you see it.

 

Anyway, I have some new information regarding Mr.  Camping’s prediction, specifically his “calculation”.  In my last post, I stated, simply put, that Camping miscalculated his dates (which are incorrect anyway) and the true result of the equation of 7000 – 4990 = 2010, when Camping stated that it worked out to be 2011.  However, I realized a slight error in my calculation today – I admit!  However, it does not make him any more correct, or close to being correct.

 

As I also explained in part one of this post, the Anno Domini calender (Which labels years either BC or AD) has no zero year, and that 1AD is directly preceded by 1BC.  If there were a year zero, that would make an additional value.

 

When we work with number lines, even though the zero point is a zero, we still count that as a value.  See this example:

5-4-3-2-1-0-1-2-3-4-5

compared to

5-4-3-2-1-1-2-3-4-5

As we see here, when we add a zero point (in this case, a zero year) we have an extra value, which is, in the case of the Anno Domini calendar, a false value because it does not exist.  Count the numbers on both of those lines.  The top one has 11 numbers, the bottom one has 10.  (Before we go on, to avoid confusion, note that I did not do this on purpose, and these numbers have no relation to the “Camping Calculation”)

When I worked out the equation on my calculator (7000 – 4990 = 2010), it did not occur to me at the time that calculators work off of a number line with a zero point.  Therefore, there is an extra value here that does not apply to the AD Calendar.  So what do we do to find the true answer?  We subtract that value.

Now even though, as I stated above, zero has no value when looked at as only a number, it does when it is on a number line.  Since the number line that I need to use to find my true answer has no zero point, the zero point that the calculator used in it’s equation is throwing things off by one.  So what we do is this:

-4990 + 7000 = 2010 – 1 = 2009

or

7000 – 4990 = 2010 – 1 = 2009

Either way, the answer is the same.  Thus, Mr.  Camping is even farther off than I had previously assumed.  His equation, had he performed it correctly, would have a result of 2009, in this case, year 2009AD (As in, two years ago.)

Now, some of you may remember that I mentioned a cosmetic year zero, so to speak, which is synonymous with 1BC, that people use to determine new millenia and centuries, therefore making new millenia and centuries begin in “01” (1001, 2001 and 1801, 1901, 2001, respectively.)  As far as I can understand, this cosmetic year zero is just that – cosmetic – and it does not effect the placement of years on the time line.  However, even if it did, it would simply add one value to the equation, and therefore we would arrive at 2010 again.

In short, the closest Mr.  Camping could possibly come with his equation is 2010, not 2011.

If this is confusing to you, I apologize, and just remember this:

Mr.  Camping is wrong about the date of the Great Flood of Noah anyway.  Biblical Genealogy (like the specific, detailed one in Genesis), time-lines, and testimony place it roughly at 2350BC rather than 4990BC.  This fact about Mr.  Camping alone should remove all credibility entrusted in him.

God Bless,

-N

Posted on October 14, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment